PDA

View Full Version : Automatic log out nuisance



IllyrioM
10-03-2012, 09:36 AM
Ok, so i start writing a post, take a few minutes at it only to realize when finished that i've been automatically logged out. It's not really a big deal since i can just copy the post, but having to log in again is a nuisance. Can this be set somewhere in the profile settings or something or is it an unavoidable 'feature'?

Thanks.

desi
10-03-2012, 09:37 AM
Try checking "remember me" besides your login info if you haven't already.

IllyrioM
10-03-2012, 09:48 AM
Try checking "remember me" besides your login info if you haven't already.

So i can log back in quicker? sure, but what about the auto-log out?

desi
10-03-2012, 09:52 AM
So i can log back in quicker? sure, but what about the auto-log out?

Well, that's what I was getting at. Try checking "remember me" and see if it still logs you out. If it still does, it probably has to do with something related to your browser or cookie settings related to your browser. If it does continue, clear your cookies and cache before trying to log in again.

IllyrioM
10-03-2012, 10:10 AM
Well, that's what I was getting at. Try checking "remember me" and see if it still logs you out. If it still does, it probably has to do with something related to your browser or cookie settings related to your browser. If it does continue, clear your cookies and cache before trying to log in again.

I'll give it a try... (i have the browser set to private browsing and this is the only place that i get this auto log out).

Ivan
10-03-2012, 10:46 AM
I'll give it a try... (i have the browser set to private browsing and this is the only place that i get this auto log out).
Private browsing is the issue then. One forum session lasts 30 minutes, you'll be logged out after that time, unless you check "remember me" option - then browser creates a cookie that automatically extends the session, and you never get logged out.
If you're using provate browsing feature, browser will be unable to create that cookie and you'll get logged out every 30 minutes.